Yes to Mad Hatter and Mañjuśrī above the pot

Uchiyama Roshi opens his comments to Dogen’s “Instructions for the Zen Cook” with a story of a tenzo who would not let any distractions stand in his way when cooking:

“One day Wuzhao was working as the tenzo at a monastery in Wutai Mountains. When the Bodhisattva Mañjuśrī suddenly appeared above the pot he was cooking, Wuzhao beat him. Later he said, “Even if Shakyamuni were to appear above the pot, I would beat him, too”. (“How to cook your life”, p 23).

This story made an impression on Uchiyama Roshi when he was a tenzo himself. Wuzhao’s cool amazed and puzzled me: it is not every day that the Bodhisattva of compassion makes an appearance and if it happens when I am cooking, isn’t this yet another wonderful ingredient to add to the meal? Flexibility and going with a flow is something I could use more of in the kitchen (of life).

When I read the story of Wuzhao sending Mañjuśrī off, I could not help thinking of the guests I would actually be glad to get a company of while at the stove. Here’s what I came up with so far:

I’d be delighted to take a cup of tea with the charming Mad Hatter while waiting for the rice to cook


the giant and most bizarre looking sun fish (mola mola) because it is so cool and fascinating

Eddie Izzard because I could not afford going to his show when he was in Stockholm and because he looks so delicious delivering jokes in those leather pants and pumps

Jill Bolte Taylor (with the brain) because I would finally have a chance to see this most exciting organ so close

Kathryn Morris because she is so cute as emotionally distant but very persistent detective Lilly Rush

last but not least my friend Marian whose very presence has a relaxing effect on me and who proved to be a terrific help in the kitchen in both working and taking delight in chocolate and ice-cream

And I only started… It could get rather crowdy over the pot, but what a nice blend! Can I ever make an authentic holistic meal without putting the whole of me into it, including my inner child, the kind and courageous Mad Hatter, the clown, the wise fish, the insightful scientist,  the caring and supportive friend, the sharp and cute detective and the rest of the zoo – all of which I first notice in others? Wuzhao is Gordon Ramsey in his kitchen, I have to give him that, but I am certainly GR in mine and from where I stand the whole crazy town is welcome to show up over the pot. Buddha, don’t be a stranger you too!

Published by Irina Almgren

All things web.

3 thoughts on “Yes to Mad Hatter and Mañjuśrī above the pot

  1. Wuzhao should take a lesson from you. As a cook, I’m disgusted by his lack of hospitality. When guests appear in your kitchen, hand them a glass of wine and a potato peeler and settle them in for a good chat while you cook together. Enough of the beatings!

    1. Casey, thanks a lot for the comment and your hospitality! Making pancakes with you over Skype was an adventure and I definately felt that you were a welcomed guest in my kitchen (just as the sun and your hubbie William were :-). I would love to show up in your kitchen (as a spirit for lack of other options right now) and share a glass of wine. 🙂

  2. And Mr.Izzard ran 43 marathons in 51 days, how awesome is that? No way I’m gonna beat him off my pot!

Leave a comment